Return to Headlines

PCMS and PCHS Scholastic Art and Writing Success Continues

PCMS and PCHS Scholastic Art and Writing Success Continues

Platte City Middle School (PCMS) students began participating in the Scholastic Art & Writing competition in 2010, with 70 submissions and 7 students receiving awards. PCMS set a school record of 75 winners in 2015. Platte City Middle School students continue to demonstrate their strong writing abilities with 79 winners this year breaking all previous records. Once again, PCMS students won more awards than any other school in the Missouri and Kansas region. PCMS had the most Gold key winners (8) and Silver key winners (21) than the school has ever received, in addition to the 47 Honorable Mention winners. Platte County High School (PCHS) increased their participation in this competition by 400% over last year, submitting nearly 100 student writing and artwork pieces. PCHS was the second winningest high school in the states of Missouri and Kansas, with 49 pieces receiving Gold, Silver or Honorable Mention status.

All Gold Key state award winners' works will be sent to New York to be read and reviewed by authors, poets, and playwrights for National Writing Medals.

Congrats to these students and their teachers, Tobee Ford-Nelson, Marnie Jenkins, Hillary Kisker, Heidi Mick, Kelly Miller, Angie Perkins, Devin Springer, and Whitney Webster.

Gold Key Award Writing Winners:

• PCMS: Hayden Humes, Emilia Wisniewski, Gregory Cox, Madison Kunz (2), Bryn McGehe, Will Moorhead, and Lindsay Vanover
• PCHS: Lauren Elmore, Madelyne Hartleroad, Hannah Havemeir, Turner Hess, Bailey Newell, and Riley Schmidt

Silver Key Award Writing Winners:

• PCMS: Anastasia Cesaro, Elisabeth Hampl, Emily Johnson, Lillian Puntney, Jaxon Rhoads, Chloe Stuart, Georgia White, Hunter Burge, Trey Butcher, Allie Corbin, Ryan Dye, Mara Gullett, Caitlynne Jenni (2), Ava Jonkman, Madison Kunz (2), Alex McClure, Gracie Neece, Ryanne Rhude, Abbey Rolofson, Emily Siskey, and Chase Strong
• PCHS: Kate Boren, Cristyn Chauvenne, Jessica Clark, Madelyne Hartleroad, Kara Hill, Kara Hooser, Lauryn Masters, and Bella Reynolds

Silver Key Award Art Winners:

• PCHS: Rylie Lawver

Honorable Mention Writing Winners:

• PCMS: Arabella Below, Mannon Bigus, Madison Boos, Benjamin Brown, Cameron Brown, Anastasia Cesaro, Hannah Claire, Katie Cordova, Maddison Dimick, Lucas Moore, Kaleb Mumma, Piper Ruwe, Myles Schmitt, Ryan Schultz, Olivia Umscheid, Natalie Wolbert, Nikki Avalo-Bradley, Aubrey Boren (2), Corbin Campos, Spencer Cupp, Delaney Danner, Ryan Dye, Mara Gullett (2), Evan Handke, Hannah Hedges (2), Caitlynne Jenni, Maddie Klippenstein, Madison Kunz, Drake Lacina, Kaylee Major (2), Chase Murphy (2), Gracie Neece, Peyton Panos, Christopher Ruhnke, Quinlynn Sanneman, Emma Seckinger, Emily Siskey, Grace Tinder, David Tohm, Lindsay Vanover, Lucas Walters, and Kaitlyn Williamson

• PCHS: Meghan Amos, Brittany Armstrong, Megan Baker, Danielle Boyle, Kelsey Evans, Megan Fowler, Madelyne Hartleroad, Megan Hartleroad, Emma Hessefort, Kara Hill, Paige Hubert, Alex Huntley, Lauryn Klein, Regan Koch, Colby Matthys, Bobbie Mercer, Grace Prestley, Jessalyn Shipp, Harper Sinclair, Aidan Stone, Ethan Ventress, and Claire Wilhelm

Honorable Mention Art Winners:

• PCHS: Allison Brown, Madelyne Hartleroad, Rylie Lawver