Return to Headlines

A Formidable Alliance


At the Missouri State VEX Robotics Championship held March 9 at the State Technical College of Missouri in Linn, Missouri, two Platte County R-3 middle school teams formed an alliance in the finals and won the tournament, qualifying both teams for the U.S. Open VEX Robotics Championship in Council Bluffs, Iowa, in early April, as well as the VEX Robotics World Championship in Louisville, Kentucky, in late April.


Platte City Middle School’s (PCMS) Team 8778Z (Chris Morgan, Jon Oliver, Cierra Poldberg, Calvin Thrasher, James Watson, Ella Scott, and Tarisa Syndergard) was in first place going into finals and chose second place Team 8778A from Barry School (Jake Graves, Collin Burton, Andrew Reinsch, and Tyler Stearns) to team up for the finals. Heading into the state tournament, all PCMS and Barry teams qualified to compete, and PCMS 8778Z and Barry 8778A quickly rose to first and second place, where they held those positions for the majority of the tournament. When qualification rounds were finished, Teams 8778Z and 8778A formed an alliance in the final rounds. The alliance won the semi-finals, quarter-finals, and finals rounds to secure the Championship win.


“Our teams have been so focused and dedicated all season, and it is this display of their character that has led to their ultimate success this year,” PCMS Robotics sponsor Sarah Larson shared. “It was an amazing display of unity to see PCMS and Barry teams form an alliance that led to a Championship win! It was truly a great day to be a Pirate.”


VEX Robotics Game Board This year’s VEX Robotics Competition game is entitled “Turning Point” with the object of the game to attain a higher score than the opposing Alliance by “high scoring” or “low scoring” caps by placing them on poles, toggling flags by propelling balls, and alliance parking or climbing platforms for center parking robots. Learn more about the game here:


Team 8778A also won the Skills Award and Design Award at the state competition, Team 8778C (Chloe Borgmeyer, Samantha Crump, Jessica Donle, Emma Hopkins, Marley Iturregui, and Kenzy Robbins) from Barry School won the Innovate Award, and Team 8778X (Kage Audas, Zane Miller, Blair Bolling, Avery Walters, Anna Vodden, and Daniel Bunge) from PCMS won the Judges Award.


Best of luck to all teams as they finish out their season! #PCR3Proud