What is a Foundation?

Platte County LogoTo enhance and offer educational opportunities, the Platte County Education Foundation with our community provides financial and motivational resources through a collaborative, transparent, and strategic approach. The Platte County Education Foundation (PCEF):

  • Is a tax exempt, non-profit corporation chartered in 1998
  • Is a part of the Kansas City Community Foundation which allows PCEF to use their investment team to our advantage
  • Administers scholarship funds and innovative classroom teaching grants annually
  • Is actively involved in raising funds from private and corporate sources to support scholarships and enrichment programs throughout the District
  • Is managed by a Board of Directors composed of dedicated community volunteers.


PCEF's goal is to increase the number of grants and scholarships given out each year. In 2021, the PCEF gave six student scholarships totaling $6,000. The Foundation scholarships are based on certain specific criteria (academic, community service, needs-based, general, and students going into education). Contact Sandi Ogden for more information on scholarship applications.

The scholarship applications are available on Platte County High School's counseling website or on this webpage in January and are typically due in March.

2022 Scholarships

The Platte County Education Foundation will award multiple, $1,000 scholarships to Platte County High School seniors, based on the following categories: Academic, Financial Need, Community Service, and Entering Education. This year's applications (linked here) are due no later than March 11, 2022. When completing an application through the Greater Kansas City Community Foundation, students may become eligible for other local scholarships.


PCEF is proud to announce up to five $600 classroom grant opportunities and two, $1,000 site grant opportunities for our staff to receive this year.

Congrats to 2020-21 School Year Grant and Scholarship Recipients!

The Platte County Education Foundation (PCEF) has selected two Site Grant and three Classroom Grant recipients in the Spring of 2021. Compass Elementary will receive a $1,000 Site Grant for "Sensory Walkways: Increasing Focus and Decreasing Problem Behaviors," submitted by Tara Swanson. Pathfinder Elementary will also receive a $1,000 Site Grant for "We Have a Book for That," submitted by Avery Holsinger and Amy Wazac. Classroom Grants have been awarded to Cherie Thatcher, "Courtyard Beautification Work Program"; Anna Burnett, "The Music Detective: Thinking Outside of the Box in Music"; and Geoff Heckman and Sandi Ogden, "Evidence-Based Tools for Counseling Groups and Individual Interventions." Please keep your eyes open to see what neat, innovative things will be happening with these dollars.

The Platte County Education Foundation has awarded six, $1,000 scholarships to 2021 PCHS seniors. Congratulations to Mallori Klopfer, Ryan Dye, Emma Jones, Sage Nichols, Piper Ruwe, and Madison Kunz!

Platte County Education Foundation Board

Tammy Glick
Chris Patterson
Vice President
Brad Meyer
Sharon Sherwood
Jennifer Duncan Fain
Della Soendker
Dr. Jay Jones
Dr. Mike Reik
Ruth Swaney
Sandi Ogden


Ways to Support the PCEF

Any person wanting to support the PCEF may do so by making a tax deductible contribution to Platte County Education Foundation, 998 Platte Falls Road, Platte City, Missouri. Make a donation in honor of, or in memory of someone special.

The Platte County Education Foundation sells Major Saver cards during the fall of each year. These cards offer 21 buy-one-get-one-free offers from area businesses. The cards available for $15 each featuring businesses in Platte City and businesses along the Barry Road corridor. Click here to purchase yours!